First-Timers at Metro CrossFit

Ever since my brother, Mac, has been home from college, I’ve been hounding him to workout with me. He’s usually a pick-up basketball kind of guy, and he is really hard to talk into any organized exercise class. He mentioned several weeks ago the only exercise “class” he’d be interested in doing was CrossFit. I’d also been wanting to try it, so when I saw an offer on Jen’s blog to try a class at her new gym, Metro CrossFit, I held Mac to it and signed us up.

Metro CrossFit

All I knew about CrossFit was from what I’d read on other blogs. I’d built it up in my mind as being very intense (as it is), so I was nervous. When we arrived, though, Jen, the trainer, and the owners were all so nice and helpful. There were some other experienced CrossFitters in the class who were also really friendly. CrossFit definitely does have the community feel I’d heard about.

The WOD (workout of the day) was Fight Gone Bad. FGB consists of three rounds of five exercises: wall-balls, sumo deadlift high-pulls, box jumps, push presses, and rows. You have one minute to do as many reps as possible of each exercise. You also have one minute of rest between rounds. The whole workout takes 17 minutes.

I kept score while Mac went first:

Wall-balls

One minute row

“You better not post that on the Internet!”

Mid-air

Box jumps

For someone who claims to “ride the couch” a lot, he did really well. The amount of sweat he worked up in 17 minutes made me nervous for my turn:

Wall-balls

(Mac must have been too busy counting my lightning-fast reps to take more than just one picture of me.)

As someone who is used to long workouts, going as hard as possible for just 17 minutes was new to me. I am used to distance running, and don’t often work to a level of complete exertion. Because of that, I didn’t really know how hard to push myself for a shorter workout. If I could go back and do it again (which hopefully we will!), I would go harder.

On another note, I really liked how the trainer and one of the owners walked around during the workout and coached us on our form. I haven’t had specified training or coaching like that in a long time, and it was so nice!

We ended with some foam rolling. I love foam rolling and could have done just that for another 17 minutes.

Overall, we had a great time and Metro CrossFit exceeded my expectations. The facilities are the nicest I’ve seen in Charlotte and the staff members are very nice and obviously very qualified. I know Mac wants to go back more while he’s home from school, and I’d like to be able to fit it into my workout routine, too.

Thanks so much to Jen, and best of luck to everyone at CrossFit Metro during the rest of opening week!

If you’re in Charlotte and are interested in CrossFit, visit Metro’s site here.

To learn more about CrossFit in general, visit the CrossFit site here.

This entry was posted in Charlotte, Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First-Timers at Metro CrossFit

  1. Pingback: Feeling Supported – Opening Week!

  2. emily says:

    i read this post with great interest because I have never done crossfit and I find it pretty intimidating. I’m competitive in that I love doing road races and triathlons, but I don’t think I’d enjoy the whole “I can lift more than you” mentality. Can you explain what the exercises were? I understand rowing and wall balls (i think!) but the others are mysterious 🙂

    • Hi Emily,

      I have a very similar view of competition. I didn’t find this particular gym to be competitive in an intimidating way, and everyone was very nice. I can’t speak for all CrossFit boxes, though!

      So for a push press, you are holding a bar (mine was just a 35 lb bar, no added weight) and pushing it from shoulder height to above your head with straight arms. A box jump is just as it sounds – jumping with both feet from the ground to the top of a box and back down. There’s a picture of my brother doing this in the post. A sumo deadlift high-pull is a wide-stance deadlift that ends with you pulling the bar up to almost your chin at the end of the deadlift.

      Here’s a great reference for all CrossFit moves: http://library.crossfit.com/free/pdf/cfjissue20_ey.pdf

  3. Brian Strump says:

    Just go! You won’t understand it without experiencing it. The mentality that you’re afraid of does not exist in many CrossFit affiliates.

Leave a Reply

